60th anniversary of Newport win against Australia

By Kevin Jarvis | 23/11/2017

Sixty years ago today, on 23rd November 1957, Newport defeated Australia at Rodney Parade by 11 points to nil.

There are eight surviving members of the team, namely Norman Morgan, BJ Jones, Brian Scrivens, Des Greenslade, Bryn Meredith, Ian Ford, Brian Cresswell and Leighton Jenkins (captain).

We are sure there are many Newport RFC supporters who have fond memories of that day and we would once again like to express our appreciation to the former players who played their part in that memorable victory.

Latest News

Dragons Website