Board changes as Newport look to the future

By Kevin Jarvis | 14/07/2017

Newport RFC have begun restructuring following the sale of Rodney Parade and the takeover of The Dragons by the WRU. As indicated at the recent EGM the majority of the existing board who were common to both teams have stood down with only Will Godfrey remaining on the board of Newport RFC. The club would like to extend its thanks to Tony Brown, Martyn Hazell, Rohit Kulkarni, Alex James, Roland Mason, Dylan Matthews, Jim McCreedy & David Watkins some of who have been directors for very many years and whose achievements and efforts for the club are well documented.

Will has been joined on the new interim board of Newport RFC by Dennis Bennett, Dave Griffiths and Kevin Jarvis who have been co-opted. All three are very well known to Newport supporters. Dennis is the current Honorary Secretary a position he has held for many years following a very successful spell as Chairman of the Supporters Club. Dave and Kevin are founder members of the Friends of Newport Rugby Trust and are the current Chairman and Secretary of that important support organisation.

The interim board is working closely with the WRU and staff of Rodney Parade to prepare for the new season and in conjunction with the Newport RFC coaches to finalise the squad and prepare them for the pre-season friendlies and then the first league game at the end of August.

An AGM will be called in August of which shareholders will be notified in due course.

The current focus for the new board is to put in place a structure for managing the operation of the business and the team. As you will understand there is a large amount of legal work to enable the separation of the two old companies/teams and the Rodney Parade Ltd organisation.       

Latest News

Dragons Website